Patients’s rights in France

fr en

The French National Health Authority’s (HAS) website provides a comprehensive list of patients’ rights. These include:

Freedom from discrimination

No one may be subjected to discrimination with regard to access to prevention or care. A health care professional may not refuse to treat a person for any of the following reasons: origin, sex, family circumstances, pregnancy, physical appearance, particular vulnerability resulting from the person’s apparent or known financial circumstances, last name, place of residence, state of health, loss of independence, disability, genetic characteristics, customs, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, political opinions, union activities, ability to speak a language other than French, or actual or supposed membership or non-membership in an ethnic group, a Nation, a supposed race, or a given religion.

Anyone who believes they have been subjected to an unjustified denial of care can submit a formal complaint to the director of the local health insurance fund or to the president of the appropriate local professional board to report the presumed discriminatory event. This referral is equivalent to filing a complaint. If no subsequent complaint is submitted, a mediation procedure is conducted within three months of receipt of the complaint by a joint committee composed of an equal number of representatives of the appropriate local professional board and of the local health insurance fund. If the local professional board fails to act within the three-month deadline, the director of the local health insurance fund can take disciplinary action against the health care professional.

Informed consent

The patient has the right to information on his/her state of health. This information pertains to any examinations, treatments, or preventive care that may be offered, the expected benefits of this care, whether are not it is urgent, the consequences it may have, the common or serious risks that can normally be foreseen, as well as any other possible solutions and the foreseeable consequences if the patient refuses treatment.

All health care professionals are required to inform patients as part of the services they provide and pursuant to the professional rules that apply to them. They may only be exempted from this requirement in emergency situations or where it is impossible to inform the patient.

This information is provided as part of an individual conversation.

The patient’s decision to be kept unaware of his/her diagnosis or prognosis must be
respected, except where third parties are exposed to a risk of transmission.

With respect to minors or adults under guardianship, the rights mentioned in this article are exercised by those with parental rights or by the patient’s guardian, as applicable.

Each patient works with his/her health care professional to make health-related decisions on the basis of the information and recommendations the health professional provides. All patients have the right to refuse or not to receive a treatment. The doctor is required to respect the patient’s wishes after informing him/her of the consequences and the seriousness of this choice.

No medical procedure or treatment can be performed without the patient’s free and informed consent, and this consent can be withdrawn at any time.

A minor or adult under guardianship must be systematically asked for consent if s/he is capable of expressing his/her wishes and of taking part in the decision-making process. If a refusal of treatment by the person with parental rights or by the guardian may have serious consequences for the minor or adult under guardianship, the doctor shall provide the care that is crucial to his/her health.

Right to privacy

Any individual receiving care from a health care professional, facility, or unit, or from a
professional or organization offering prevention or treatment services, has the right to
privacy and confidentiality of his/her personal information. Indeed, all of the information about the person of which the health care professional, any staff member working at the facility, unit, or organization, or any other person whose work brings him/her in contact with these facilities or organizations, becomes aware, must be kept confidential. This confidentiality requirement applies to all professionals involved in France’s health care system.

Information on the cost of care

The patient has a right to information on how much s/he may be charged for any
preventive, diagnostic, or treatment-related services and, where applicable, to information on how any care is covered and on exemptions from up-front payment. This information is provided free of charge.

Patients’ rights

Droits des patients en France

fr en

Le site internet de la Haute autorité de santé fournit une liste exhaustive des droits de patients, parmi lesquels :

La non-discrimination

Aucune personne ne peut faire l'objet de discriminations dans l'accès à la prévention ou aux soins. Un professionnel de santé ne peut refuser de soigner une personne pour l'un des motifs ci-après : origine, sexe, situation de famille, grossesse, apparence physique, particulière vulnérabilité résultant de la situation économique, apparente ou connue de son auteur,  patronyme, lieu de résidence, état de santé, perte d'autonomie, handicap, caractéristiques génétiques, mœurs, orientation sexuelle, identité de genre, âge, opinions politiques, activités syndicales, capacité à s'exprimer dans une langue autre que le français, appartenance ou non-appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une ethnie, une Nation, une prétendue race ou une religion déterminée.

Toute personne qui s'estime victime d'un refus de soins illégitime peut saisir le directeur de l'organisme local d'assurance maladie ou le président du conseil territorialement compétent de l'ordre professionnel concerné des faits qui permettent d'en présumer l'existence. Cette saisine vaut dépôt de plainte. Hors cas de récidive, une conciliation est menée dans les trois mois de la réception de la plainte par une commission mixte composée à parité de représentants du conseil territorialement compétent de l'ordre professionnel concerné et de l'organisme local d'assurance maladie. En cas de carence du conseil territorialement compétent, dans un délai de trois mois, le directeur de l'organisme local d'assurance maladie peut prononcer à l'encontre du professionnel de santé une sanction.

Le consentement éclairé 

Toute personne a le droit d'être informée sur son état de santé. Cette information porte sur les différentes investigations, traitements ou actions de prévention qui sont proposés, leur utilité, leur urgence éventuelle, leurs conséquences, les risques fréquents ou graves normalement prévisibles qu'ils comportent ainsi que sur les autres solutions possibles et sur les conséquences prévisibles en cas de refus.

Cette information incombe à tout professionnel de santé dans le cadre de ses compétences et dans le respect des règles professionnelles qui lui sont applicables. Seules l'urgence ou l'impossibilité d'informer peuvent l'en dispenser. Cette information est délivrée au cours d'un entretien individuel.

La volonté d'une personne d'être tenue dans l'ignorance d'un diagnostic ou d'un pronostic doit être respectée, sauf lorsque des tiers sont exposés à un risque de transmission.

Les droits des mineurs ou des majeurs sous tutelle sont exercés, selon les cas, par les titulaires de l'autorité parentale ou par le tuteur

Toute personne prend, avec le professionnel de santé et compte tenu des informations et des préconisations qu'il lui fournit, les décisions concernant sa santé. Toute personne a le droit de refuser ou de ne pas recevoir un traitement. Le médecin a l'obligation de respecter la volonté de la personne après l'avoir informée des conséquences de ses choix et de leur gravité.

Aucun acte médical ni aucun traitement ne peut être pratiqué sans le consentement libre et éclairé de la personne et ce consentement peut être retiré à tout moment.

Le consentement du mineur ou du majeur sous tutelle doit être systématiquement recherché s'il est apte à exprimer sa volonté et à participer à la décision. Dans le cas où le refus d'un traitement par la personne titulaire de l'autorité parentale ou par le tuteur risque d'entraîner des conséquences graves pour la santé du mineur ou du majeur sous tutelle, le médecin délivre les soins indispensables.

Le respect de la vie privée

Toute personne prise en charge par un professionnel de santé, un établissement ou service, un professionnel ou organisme concourant à la prévention ou aux soins a droit au respect de sa vie privée et du secret des informations la concernant. Ce secret couvre l'ensemble des informations concernant la personne, venues à la connaissance du professionnel, de tout membre du personnel de ces établissements, services ou organismes et de toute autre personne en relation, de par ses activités, avec ces établissements ou organismes. Il s'impose à tous les professionnels intervenant dans le système de santé.

La connaissance des frais auxquels le patient sera exposé

Toute personne a droit à une information sur les frais auxquels elle pourrait être exposée à l'occasion d'activités de prévention, de diagnostic et de soins et, le cas échéant, sur les conditions de leur prise en charge et de dispense d'avance des frais. Cette information est gratuite.

Droits des patients